Slingbox TV

Wiis, PlayStations, iPads, blogging platforms, Facebook and anything else worthy of buzz in the digital world.
Shorty
Forum God/Goddess
Posts: 3613
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 12:53 pm

Slingbox TV

Postby Shorty » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:13 pm

Are any of you using a Slingbox with your TV? It allows you to watch your TV signal over the internet on any PC, so you don't have to be in your TV room.

I bought a Slingbox M1 but haven't been able to get it to work. It won't connect to my network. I tried both wifi and ethernet cable but it just gives error messages: G-501, A-444, and W-100. I did several resets but didn't help. Their tech support doesn't look good but I will try calling them. Just wondering if any of use one of these.

http://www.slingbox.com/products/slingb ... tures.aspx

LargeMarge
Forum Addict
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:57 pm
Location: Madison-on the Isthmus

Re: Slingbox TV

Postby LargeMarge » Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:37 pm

I have a Slingbox 500. I didn't have any issues setting it up. I have Charter for both TV and internet. I have it set up with a wired internet connection. I previously had a Slingbox Pro, but it didn't work with the Chromecast I use at my boyfriend's house.

snoqueen
Forum God/Goddess
Posts: 14650
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 10:42 pm

Re: Slingbox TV

Postby snoqueen » Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:40 pm

W-100 supposedly means the Slingbox Administrator password that you typed is incorrect.

http://support.slingbox.com/KB/KB-5000268

For G-501, I found the following on the slingbox site itself:

With the G-501 error, normally a hard reset and setting up the Slingbox again should fix that. If you're only holding the button down for the 10 seconds suggested, I recommend trying closer to 30-45 seconds instead, just to make sure it's really erasing all of the older data.


That was here, and I used G-501 for a search term:

https://community.slingbox.com/message/118235#118235

A-444 questions elicit no answers I can find.

Here is a PDF of the manual if you didn't get one. Page 33 is about setting up the password; page 56 is about setting up the admin password which is different. The manual doesn't list the error codes, which is unhelpful. It's the longest manual I ever saw for an internet appliance.

http://ec1.images-amazon.com/media/i3d/ ... 075454.pdf

I just wanted to see if I could find anything -- I don't have this piece of hardware myself.

Shorty
Forum God/Goddess
Posts: 3613
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 12:53 pm

Re: Slingbox TV

Postby Shorty » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:11 pm

Thanks for the replies. Slingbox 500 is $250 so I can't afford that.

Snoqueen, you could work for tech support. I appreciate your effort. But the pdf user manual you found is for slingbox classic (original one) and I have the newer M1 which has some differences. For example, I think there is only one password and the error code meanings seem different than the ones you posted. Here are the M1 error codes: http://support.slingbox.com/sitecore/co ... lang=en-US

For W-100 it says "Slingplayer can't connect to your Slingbox. Check that Wi-Fi is enabled on your computer or smartphone. Be sure your Slingbox is powered up. Wait two minutes after power-up before trying again."

Most of the error codes are not helpful and the only real action they say is reset your slingbox, which I have done several times to no avail.

I bought two of these M1's from ebay and they both give error messages without working. Ebay sellers said they worked fine for them so maybe I'm doing something wrong. One seller referred me to this:
http://support.slingbox.com/KB/KB-2000505

I followed the instructions but:
1) My netgear router already has UPnP enabled by default.

2) I changed my router settings to use port forwarding. The slingbox still doesn't connect to my wifi.

3) I don't understand how to setup a dhcp reservation. On my slingbox software there is no network settings section. On my router settings I don't see any place to set up a dhcp reservation.

Shorty
Forum God/Goddess
Posts: 3613
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 12:53 pm

Re: Slingbox TV

Postby Shorty » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:28 pm

I bought a new Slingbox M2 from Best buy. Got similar error msgs setting it up as I did my M1. But since it was new, I was able to call Slingbox for support. They figured it out. I needed to:

1) stop Cisco VPN from running. It was keeping Slingbox from connecting.
2) Turn off my firewall.
3) Reset my slingbox. My previous attempts to set it up with VPN and firewall running had seemed up the slingbox.

Once I did those, the slingbox was able to receive my TV signal. I returned the M2 to best buy for refund, and set up my used M1.


Return to “Technology & Video Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest