Blogger Q&A

Wiis, PlayStations, iPads, blogging platforms, Facebook and anything else worthy of buzz in the digital world.
MadMind75
Forum Addict

Blogger Q&A

Postby MadMind75 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:40 pm

I'm somewhat new to blogger and haven't yet figured out all the ins and outs.

I'm someone that futz's with my post's a lot, and one thing I don't like is the auto-save feature when you're working on drafts (it makes things lag each time it's saving), and I don't like the fact that everytime you go back to work on a draft it doubles the spacing so that you have to go through and manually correct it.
I've looked up how to change the auto-save feature on drafts but all I could find is a suggestion to publish whatever you're working on and write "under construction" at the top until you're done working on the post. I'd rather not reveal a post before I'm done working on it, but I hate the auto-save and extra spacing on drafts.

Can you alter the colors and background of your blog without changing the layout?

Bookpolice, how do you add those sidebars (Where I am, Flickr, Blogroll 2.0)???

TheBookPolice
Forum God/Goddess

Re: Blogger Q&A

Postby TheBookPolice » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:42 pm

This response is under construction.

/geocities

The simple answer is, keep on a'futzin'. There's nothing you can do with one click in Settings that can't be undone.

To change colors, you'll need to get into your expanded template and change the colors manually, but you'll need to know the HTML color codes to do that.

To get the sidebar stuff, you'll need to go into Layout and play with the Add and Arrange Page Elements options. It's pretty self-explanatory once you get in there.

I also recommend getting to know the real basic HTML stuff and write your posts in Edit HTML mode rather than Compose. Using Compose will mess with your formatting something fierce, plus it adds all kinds of extraneous HTML language to your posts.