H1N1 flu outbreak

If it's news, but not politics, then it goes here.
Shorty
Forum God/Goddess

H1N1 flu outbreak

Postby Shorty » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:26 pm

I read Flu cases are increasing in the US and it's the H1N1 strain which can be severe and kill healthy young and middle aged adults, not just elderly. H1N1 caused the last severe outbreak in 2009 which killed 12,000 Americans. I haven't gotten a shot but am considering getting one this week. How about you? I'm no expert, but if I understand these CDC sites the A (H1N1) pdm09 (pH1N1) virus (Swine flu) is the most dangerous and it is protected against by the current shot.

Deadly H1N1 Spreading Across U.S.
http://www.weather.com/health/cold-flu- ... s-20140106

http://emergency.cdc.gov/HAN/han00359.asp
"From November through December 2013, CDC has received a number of reports of severe respiratory illness among young and middle-aged adults, many of whom were infected with influenza A (H1N1) pdm09 (pH1N1) virus. Multiple pH1N1-associated hospitalizations, including many requiring intensive care unit (ICU) admission, and some fatalities have been reported. The pH1N1 virus that emerged in 2009 caused more illness in children and young adults, compared to older adults, although severe illness was seen in all age groups. While it is not possible to predict which influenza viruses will predominate during the entire 2013-14 influenza season, pH1N1 has been the predominant circulating virus so far. For the 2013-14 season, if pH1N1 virus continues to circulate widely, illness that disproportionately affects young and middle-aged adults may occur."

http://www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/vaccine/general.htm