Curious about craigslist

Who's making noise in and around Madison? What's new in the business of making music around town? Review shows and CDs here. Please keep all hype in Hype Exchange.
jjoyce
Forum God/Goddess

Curious about craigslist

Postby jjoyce » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm

In reading the Good 'n Loud discussion, I'm curious about how often local musicians peruse craigslist and, maybe more importantly, actually buy stuff from people advertising on it.

Seems like the instruments area is pretty active.

fisticuffs
Forum God/Goddess

Re: Curious about craigslist

Postby fisticuffs » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:18 pm

I'm a musician. I've never bought an instrument through craigslist. I browse from time to time but never see anything other than people's old crap. And of course there's dealing with whoever is selling on the price which is rarely rooted in reality.

Kenneth Burns
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Kenneth Burns » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:21 pm

I bought a 72 Tele reissue from Carl Johns. But I just ran into him one day and we started talking about it.

ilikebeans
Forum God/Goddess

Postby ilikebeans » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:35 pm

I got a decent used Fender Jazz (Mexican) a few years ago from craigslist, but I can tell you that anything worth anything is likely going to be on eBay. That is, if the seller is savvy.

dead ed

Postby dead ed » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm

I buy effects and some odd stuff off of the music list, but would agree that I don't see any guitars that I've been tempted by.

snoqueen
Forum God/Goddess

Postby snoqueen » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:37 pm

I sold a nice vintage 2 1/2 octave rosewood marimba on there a couple years ago.

green union terrace chair
Forum God/Goddess

Postby green union terrace chair » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:08 pm

Jason, would you say then that you're buy-curious?

Thank you thank you, remember to tip your waitress.

Kenneth Burns
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Kenneth Burns » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:57 pm