Homie von Recordo

Who's making noise in and around Madison? What's new in the business of making music around town? Review shows and CDs here. Please keep all hype in Hype Exchange.
supaunknown
Forum God/Goddess

Homie von Recordo

Postby supaunknown » Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:20 pm

I'm having a blast recording our various bando stuff. Total basement jerb. Learning useful tidbits just about every time I sit down in front of the computer feels good. Non-linear recording and mixing seems like a combination of Tetris and Sim City - getting all the pieces in place correctly and then making them work well together for the common good - only it seems like I'm being more real-world productive than when I used to spend countless hour playing Madden Franchise!
I'm a relative noob with a LOT of learning yet to do, but things seem to be progressing well so far.
I'm using a Firepod going into my HP that has Sony Vegas.
Any help or advice you home recording experts can offer me?

Various issues/questions:

What electric guitar mic'ing methods do you use?
How about acoustic guitar? Steel string versus classical?
Do you ever record guitar direct? Preamp?
How about bass? Mic'd cab? Direct-only? Both?
Voice recording? One mic? Two? Twelve? What kinds?
Gang vocals?
How do you mix drums? Panning?
Compression? Limiting?
EQ?
What is your process for mixing songs?
What's the most amount of tracks you've had to mix down for one song?
Is there such a thing as too much non-linear self-indulgence?
Computer crash horror stories?
Nightmare bad sessions? Who cracked? Why?
Beer/bong spillage?
What's the best way to clean tears off a pop filter? How 'bout terror sweat?
HELP!

lil bunny fufu
Forum God/Goddess

Re: Homie von Recordo

Postby lil bunny fufu » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:24 pm

Everybody's got their own take on all these kinds of things and works a little differently and defines "it" a little differently, so you're likely to get a bunch of different answers.